top of page

Inflatable kayaks? Which One & Why?

I get asked constantly about inflatable kayaks. Which one should I buy? Or, I only want to spend XX dollars, what do you recommend? There is no simple answer to these questions. So in this article I will try to answer these questions and provide some very valuable information to consider before you make this decision.

There are all kinds of inflatables on the market today from $100 to $2500. Even Hobie got into the inflatable market with their 2019 Hobie Mirage Inflatable Single Kayak i9s with a whooping $2500 price tag.


Dangers of Water-sports

So let's start with the shock and awe first. There were 254 accidents involving a canoe or kayak in 2018. Out of those 120 were injured, and 128 died. If you’re kayaking and have an accident then you’re almost as likely to die as you are to walk away uninjured. So what’s the number one type of accident for kaynoers’ (or canyakers’ if you prefer)?


Capsizing; capsizing was the primary accident in 55% of kayak and canoe incidents. 280 vessels (of all types) were involved in a capsizing event resulting in 119 drownings; 56% of those vessels were manually propelled, indicating they were likely kayaks or canoes. Now, that's a sobering statistic. Add on to that, with an inflatable you have the potential of bladder rupture also causing you to leave your craft. 


Cause;

So what causes these accidents and what were the conditions? So let's look at this;

1. 42% of these were due to inexperienced paddlers.

2. 16.9% was due to inattentiveness.

3. 19.4% was due to Alcohol. 

Conditions; Take a look at the conditions when the majority of accidents happened. Your probably thinking that many of these were in major white water or storms. They mostly happened on sunny days in small water. 

Visibility: Good

Water Temperature: 70-79 F

Wind: Light

Surface: Calm


Where Accidents Happen

Lakes, Ponds and Reservoirs; 45.91% (1903 accidents)

Rivers, Streams, Creeks, Swamps, Bayous; 26.08% (966 accidents)

Bays, Inlets, Marinas, Sounds, etc.; 20% (829 accidents)

Ocean/Gulf; 24,56% (347 accidents)

Grate Lakes; 4.26% (100 accidents)

(All the statistical data was derived from 2018 USCG)


I could go on into time of day etc., but that's enough doom and gloom. Remember that when you’re out on a boat, any kind of boat, you’re not invincible. So let's get into these inflatable kayaks.


Inflatable Kayaks


​The market is saturated with inflatable kayaks for consumers. However many are not much more than pool floaties and in my opinion, are not safe for the open water, especially where I paddle. My experience with inflatables is only 4 years but I have tried and reviewed many models. I paddle in Florida waters which are somewhat dangerous in its self with gators, alligator gars, jumping tarpons, nasty water snakes and of course swamps with protruding pointy cypress roots and brackish water allowing zero visibility. All those conditions are the major reason why I selected the inflatable kayak I did. So, if I don't

speak favorably about the inflatable you might have, it's not personal and is based on my opinion and the conditions I paddle in. Firstly, My paddling season is reversed to most out there. My season starts in October and ends the 1st of June. I paddle normally 3 to 4 times a week and normally in different locations. Also, I plan paddle camping trips during the season. The inflatables are invaluable during these events. I own 4 different models with different lengths based on where I'm going to paddle.


Selection Process

As mentioned, Florida water conditions was the main factor for determining the type of inflatable kayak I purchase. So cost was not the main factor. I wanted something had durability and major protection properties. Basically, puncture proof. Yes, I know there is no such thing. But the more protection I have the better off I will be.



I did look at the SeaEagle, actually started a video review on it but cancelled the review when it dumped me in the pool three times during the setup process. Following their inflation guidelines with this plastic inflation gauge card to measure the proper inflation of the kayak. Then I also noticed that the main air bladder is also the main skin for the kayak. Meaning the air bladder is the kayak. Really there is no protection from punctures. Repairs are made are made on the actual exterior of the craft. I found out that if you want the SeaEagle stable one has to under inflate the craft. I found the bottom to have several inflated I-beams instead of a flat bottom. Now this may be their design thought for improved tracking but I see this as an area for more potential punctures especially on Florida waters, swamp and brackish waters as you cannot see what you're paddling upon. I found this manufacturing practice similar to the way many of the lower end inflatables are manufactured. The Intex, Innova, Sevylor is the same with regard to their main chamber and basic construction.

Now don't get me wrong some of the aforementioned manufactures do have their high end line in the $1000 to $1400 range where their designs are high tech dropstich construction making them more rigid, but way more expensive.


So all of those so far mentioned did not meet my protection requirements. I needed a tough durable outer skin especially the bottom. Then, additional air bladder protection.


Advanced Elements 

I was looking at an inflatable where the bottom is made from PVC Tarpaulin for durability which has a ripstop nylon upper section. Also has a separate canvas zippered compartment to house the main air bladder(s).  Aluminum forward and aft frames, deck lifts, inflatable combing on most models and lumbar seats. Several models to choose from 8'5" to 15'. Dropstich technology and durable. I think this is what I was looking for. Trust me, I did my research on Advanced Elements, their manufacturing procedures, materials and customer service. They are, in my opinion, the best inflatable company out there. So my first was the Straitedge sit-on top by Advanced Elements. Then came the Sport, Expedition Elite, AE1044DSXL Limited and the Convertible Tandem. All are still on the water and doing well. The Sport has well over 100 paddling adventures under its belt. 



Inflatable Market

Again there are several lower cost inflatables out there and I get asked about them all the time and if I would recommend them. Many of these questions are based on budget inquiries. I have the basic questions like paddlers height, weight, where you're going to paddle and type

waters. Many newbies in the sport buy the cheapest kayak out there

and find out that there are weight capacity limits on all kayaks. Excited they take the new yak out and it either sinks or takes on water and tosses him/her out. Now they blame the kayak.


I try my best to have the person think about the dangers of any water sport. It really doesn't matter what boat, SUP, Canoe, Kayak you have, the dangers are there. Your family, kids, boyfriend, girlfriend even someone you don't know are in potential danger when on the water. So, cost should not be your first priority. The safety of your chosen craft should be your number one priority.


The whole idea is to have a great time on the water when you plan an event. You plan your event thinking of the fun your going to have, I'm the same way, but having the right craft to be confident that you all return home safe and plan your next on water event.


So what ever you decide keep your safety in mind and enjoy our kayaking sport.




Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page