top of page

The Revolutionary AirVolution by Advanced Elements


Advanced Elements is the premier inflatable kayak manufacturer based out of Northern California. Beginning over 15 years ago, Advanced Elements was started by two inventors with the desire to bring to market a new type of Inflatable Kayak. During this time the have developed over 100 products distributed world wide. They are always thinking outside the box with their designs and now they have announced a new high pressure drop stitch technology kayak called the "Airvolution™" The entire kayak is innovatively constructed using PVC Tarpaulin laminated to high-pressure drop-stitch material - this gives a smoother finish, increased rigidity and a sculpted outline for greater paddling performance. The v-shaped hull design in the bow and removable deep-water fin increase tracking performance, allowing the AirVolution to slice through the water.

The Airvolution™ is a streamlined high-performance kayak with paddling performance that rivals that of a hard-shell kayak. Featuring an open deck design for ease of entry. The Airvolution™ uses many high-end components such as a high-back comfortable seat, bungee deck lacing for gear stowage, and heavy-duty grab handles. The Airvolution™ Solo AE3029 specifications; Length:13’ Width:32″ Product Weight:39 LBS. Max Weight Capacity: 300 LBS.


I personally had the honor of being involved in testing and producing 2 videos of a preproduction model. I produced the "Sneak Peek" video where I was able to test this kayak on a lake environment and on a creek/river with pretty good current. Getting to know this new style kayak was a pleasure.

Shrouded in secrecy was so much fun to work with the manufacturer as the final design elements were being worked out. I can tell you that they put a lot of blood sweat and tears on this exceptional new design. The second video I did was the "Airvolution Setup and Review". Now this is a long video that explains some of the differences between the preproduction unit I tested and the production unit. I explain and show the inflation and deflation process, fold and bag. Also explained is the included pump for the inflation and deflate process and removable fin installation and removal.

Now for the performance on water. I always test all kayaks for its max tip point first before I venture too far from the launch point. Hey it's Florida and we have some nasty critters around. I need to understand the crafts limits.


If I'm leery of a kayak I'm reviewing, I test it in my pool first. I've never had to do that with an Advanced Elements kayak. But I was reviewing an off brand inflatable tandem kayak and was going to do a video review on it until I started questioning its design. So inflated to specification I decided to put it in the pool for my standard tip test. As I went to just get in it dumped me in the pool not once but three times. All I said was "oh hell no" cancelled the review and promptly returned this inflatable kayak to the manufacturer.


Yes, I did put the Airvolution™ in the pool, but not for a tip test as I could see that would be a problem on water and would do the tip test on the lake. The reason I placed it in my pool is to see its hull stance from underwater. I have a "Chasing Dory" underwater drone which allows me to film underwater wildlife up to 49 ft deep with 1080P video. So, it would give me a better look of the bottom of the craft on water. This is when I noticed a hull curvature, the two chines, fin position and the drain area.


Performance Test

So, you may be asking? How did it do on water? Well, I'm glad you asked. The first test was on a local lake behind me. This location is where I have tested many kayaks, paddles and kayak accessories. One of my most fun reviews was the review of the Advanced Elements Rapid Up Sail. The sail works great and when I did the first on water test there was a small craft advisory posted and like an idiot I went out. Big mistake, it was ugly out there and I quickly realized I had to get back in. This was the first and only time my Sport got swamped and I had to use my bailing pump.


The day had come for the maiden voyage of the Airvolution™ I could not have asked for a better day to paddle, well it could have been a little cooler. So the first test is, ease of entry. Being this kayak has a 9" fin I had to enter the kayak a little different than I normally do. Because of the fin length I place the stern of the craft in the deeper water and the bow pointing at the launch. Kinda backwards from what I normally do. The entry was so easy it placed a smile on my face. Some of the kayaks I've tested getting in and out is difficult. This was no problem of any kind.


Tip Test

Next was the tip test. I always do this close to the launch area as gators stay away from the boat ramp area. Hey, I'm smart like that! So I grab the sides and start rocking back and forth to see if will pitch me out. It passed with flying colors.

Ease of Paddling

Next came ease of paddling. I wanted to do day one with a standard blade style. As I planned the next day paddle to use a paddle I have that has a 105 sqin blade face. I wanted to see the difference in ease of paddling. Straight up, I could not find a difference with the paddling ease with both paddles tested. Even in upstream current only a little more effort was required.

Tracking

Tracking was the next test. Without good tracking any kayak is worthless. Airvolution™ tracking is superior. I tested the tracking multiple times at both locations. I would do slow tracking tests and fast tracking Every time it was straight as an arrow. Even in current only minor corrections were required as the river current in the turns kinda have a mind of its own. I credit this to an excellent design with the hull shape, two outside chines and the large fin.


Maneuverability

With any large kayak, this one being 13', maneuverability is a very key factor for any day touring. One of the things that really impressed me was the in place 360 turn. It was so effortless all I could do was smile. On the creek in the narrows it performed well. I was concerned about the 9" fin a bit as many of the Florida creeks and rivers have a lot felled trees just below the surface. I was actually thinking about that while paddling Shingle Creek when I hit a submerged log and it went right over it by lifting the kayak at the stern a bit. So it maneuvers well.


Tracking

Tracking was the next test. Without good tracking any kayak is worthless. Airvolution™ tracking is superior. I tested the tracking multiple times at both locations. I would do slow tracking tests and fast tracking Every time it was straight as an arrow. Even in current only minor corrections were required as the river current in the turns kinda have a mind of its own. I credit this to an excellent design with the hull shape, two outside chines and the large fin.


Size and weight

At 13' and just weighing 39lbs, no cart wheels are required with kayak. One can easily place it on your shoulder and easily carry it to your launch site. Its size is perfect for me. Not too long and not too short. Light weight for easy transport.

My Thoughts

My personal thoughts on this revolutionary inflatable kayak. The Airvolution™ is a superior inflatable kayak. With the high pressure drop stitch technology and the materials used, produced an excellent product. I have yet to paddle any kayak that beats the performance, ease of paddle, comfort and maneuverability. The ease of inflation and deflation and storage is great. The duffel has wheels and can also be worn as a backpack. The design of the Airvolution™ is top notch. Available 6/30/2020 through Airkayaks.com for the solo the price point is $1099 and for the tandem 14' is $1299.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page